Information about additional awards can be found here.

Engineering Outreach Award

This award is given to an engineering student who, through service to the engineering program and/or the local community, has demonstrated significant leadership in and enthusiasm for encouraging young women in engineering.

Excellence in Engineering Award

This award is given to a graduating engineering science major who has demonstrated high achievement in engineering courses and conducted herself in a professional and positive manner.

George H. Lenz Excellence in Physics Award

Given to a senior physics major or minor who has shown dedication and success in the pursuit of learning physics. The winner of this award excels both in theoretical and experimental physics and exemplifies Professor Lenz’s excitement for understanding physics. The naming of this award honors Professor Lenz’s significant contributions to the physics department, where he taught from 1970 to 2004.

Gill Scholarship

Funded by Betty Byrne Gill Ware ’55 in honor of her parents, Dr. and Mrs. Elbyrne Grady Gill, this award is presented to a rising junior or senior for their achievements in the environmental sciences or studies program and their interest in protecting the environment.

Helen McClure Gager Award in Chemistry

Established by the husband, family and friends of Helen Gager, associate professor of chemistry, who taught at Sweet Briar from 1976 to 1980. The award recognizes a member of the Sweet Briar community — student, faculty or other — who has done distinguished work in the field of chemistry.

James Lewis Howe Award in Chemistry

Sponsored by the Blue Ridge Section of the American Chemical Society, this prize is awarded to a senior for excellence in chemistry. It is presented to the recipient in April at a meeting of the Blue Ridge Section of the American Chemical Society.

Judith Molinar Elkins Prize

Established by her family in honor of Judith Molinar Elkins, professor of mathematics. This award recognizes the outstanding achievements of a senior majoring in the mathematical, physical or biological sciences, actively participating in the College community, and demonstrating the ideals and dedication to learning exemplified by the life of Professor Elkins.

Juliet Halliburton Davis Award

This award recognizes an outstanding major in environmental science or environmental studies for their academic achievement, leadership and service to the environmental science department.

Mathematical Sciences Award

Awarded to a graduating mathematical sciences major who has demonstrated excellence by achieving at least a 3.3 GPA in mathematical courses and in one or more of the following ways: performance in the classroom, academic activities outside the classroom, service to the department, leadership on campus and service to the local community.

Regatta Awards

The Regatta Awards are presented to students in the Introduction to Engineering class whose designs and performance in the annual Cardboard Boat Regatta are exemplary. The awards recognize the teams’ work in four categories: speed, buoyancy, design and overall excellence.

Sprague-Belcher Commencement Award in Biology

This award is given to a senior biology major who shows enthusiasm for, dedication to, and achievement in biological research, exploration and education. It is given in memory of long-time faculty members Elizabeth Sprague and Jane Belcher.