Honor Societies

Information about additional honor societies can be found here.

Eta Sigma Phi

Eta Sigma Phi is the national honorary society in classics, founded in 1914. The chapter at Sweet Briar College was established in 1995. The Greek letters Eta Sigma Phi stand for “The Society of Those Who Love the Classical Tradition.” The organization exists to recognize outstanding achievement in the study of Greek and Latin languages, and to foster a spirit of friendship among students of the classics.

Omicron Delta Epsilon

The Sweet Briar chapter of Omicron Delta Epsilon, the National Honor Society in Economics, was established in 2005. The objectives of Omicron Delta Epsilon are recognition of scholastic attainment and the honoring of outstanding achievements in economics and the establishment of closer ties between students and faculty in economics within and among colleges and universities.

Phi Alpha Delta

The Omega Mu Chapter of the Phi Alpha Delta law fraternity was established at Sweet Briar College in 1995. It is the first undergraduate chapter established at a women’s college. Its purpose is to promulgate the study of law and politics in American society. Chapter members have served as volunteers in the Amherst Youth Service Project and in the Amherst County School district.

Pi Gamma Mu

Pi Gamma Mu is the national social sciences honor society recognizing student achievement in economics, history, political science and psychology. The Virginia Kappa Chapter at Sweet Briar College was chartered in 1983. It is a public service organization that accepts juniors and seniors with 20 hours of credit and a “B” average in social sciences courses.

Sigma Beta Delta

The Sweet Briar chapter of Sigma Beta Delta, the international business honor society, was created in November 2017. The society honors and recognizes scholarship among students of business, management and administration. In addition, it encourages personal and professional improvement as well as service to community. The chapter at Sweet Briar gives the College’s business faculty the opportunity to recognize students for academic achievements.