Information about additional awards can be found here.

Anne Gary Pannell Taylor Award in History

Honoring the fifth president of the College, this award is presented to a senior history major who has achieved the highest cumulative grade point average.

“Big Sister” Award

Donated by Sweet Briar alumnae who teach at Tye River Elementary School in Nelson County, this award is given to a member of the senior class who has shown a commitment to community service by contributing to the educational and emotional growth of the children at Tye River Elementary School. The recipient gives valuable time and makes a positive difference in the lives of these young people.

Kenmore Merit Scholarship

This scholarship is warded to a junior or senior who has maintained a 3.3 grade point average and who is recognized by the faculty of the government program for academic excellence.

Laura Buckham Book Award

Established by the friends of the late Laura Buckham, professor of French at Sweet Briar for 32 years, this award is presented to a rising junior who is a French major in recognition of excellence in French.

Marcia Capron Award

Established by John D. Capron in honor of his wife, this award is given to a senior for excellence in French.

Milan Hapala Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to a junior majoring in international affairs or government who wishes to study in the Czech Republic.

Nicole Greenleaf Service in Education Award

Named in honor of Nicole Clara Michelle Greenleaf, Class of 2003, this award honors a senior in the teacher education program who has demonstrated scholastic achievement and whose volunteer service in support of a struggling student in a local public school has been an inspiration to that student’s school community.

Outstanding Scholar in Education Award

This award is given in recognition to young women in Virginia colleges who have completed the teacher preparation programs in an exemplary fashion. It is awarded to advance the professional interest and position of women in education and to honor women who have given or who evidence potential for distinctive service in any field of education. The award is sponsored by Delta Kappa Gamma, a national honor sorority for leading women in education.

Rebecca Tomlinson Lindblom Award

Established by the Rev. William L. Lindblom in honor of his wife, this award is given to a student or students who demonstrate academic excellence in philosophy and religion, as well as in the application of their principles to daily living.

W. Edward Overly Award

Established by W. Edward Overly, parent of Lynda Overly ’64, the prize is awarded to a senior who has demonstrated scholarly achievement in Spanish.