Honor Societies

Information about additional honor societies can be found here.

Alpha Psi Omega

In 2001, the Alpha Delta Beta chapter of Alpha Psi Omega, the National Honorary Dramatic Fraternity, was established at Sweet Briar College to honor outstanding students in theatre arts.

Sigma Tau Delta

Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honors Society, was established in 1924. Its purposes are (a) to confer distinction for high achievement in English language and literature studies in undergraduate, graduate and professional work; (b) to promote interest in literature and the English language on local campuses and their surrounding communities; and (c) to foster the discipline of English in all its aspects, including creative and critical writing.

The Alpha Omicron Iota chapter was installed at Sweet Briar in the spring of 2007. Chapter members are eligible to apply for Sigma Tau Delta scholarships, participate in international conventions and submit original written work for publication in the society journals The Rectangle and The STD Review. The society also provides other exceptional educational and professional opportunities for its members through its internships and career networks.