Honor Societies

Information about additional honor societies can be found here.

Omicron Delta Epsilon

The Sweet Briar chapter of Omicron Delta Epsilon, the National Honor Society in Economics, was established in 2005. The objectives of Omicron Delta Epsilon are recognition of scholastic attainment and the honoring of outstanding achievements in economics and the establishment of closer ties between students and faculty in economics within and among colleges and universities.

Phi Alpha Delta

The Omega Mu Chapter of the Phi Alpha Delta law fraternity was established at Sweet Briar College in 1995. It is the first undergraduate chapter established at a women’s college. Its purpose is to promulgate the study of law and politics in American society. Chapter members have served as volunteers in the Amherst Youth Service Project and in the Amherst County School district.

Sigma Beta Delta

The Sweet Briar chapter of Sigma Beta Delta, the international business honor society, was created in November 2017. The society honors and recognizes scholarship among students of business, management and administration. In addition, it encourages personal and professional improvement as well as service to community. The chapter at Sweet Briar gives the College’s business faculty the opportunity to recognize students for academic achievements.