A-Z

 A

 B

 C

 D

 E

 F

 G

 H

ABOUTACADEMICSADMISSIONSTUDENT LIFEATHLETICSALUMNAERIDINGNEWSGIVINGDIRECTORY
 

Opening and Closing Information

 

Information for 2014-15 Academic Year

Returning for fall semester: Check-in for returning students is scheduled for Sunday, August 24, through Tuesday, August 26, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. in the Co-curricular Life Office (CCL).

Thanksgiving Holiday: Thanksgiving vacation begins at 5:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 21, 2014. Residence areas close at 8 a.m. Saturday, Nov. 22, and reopen at 8 a.m. Sunday, Nov. 30. The first meal served will be dinner on Sunday, Nov. 30. Classes resume at 8:30 a.m. Monday, Dec. 1.

Semester Break: The final exam period is Sunday, Dec. 14-Friday, Dec. 19. Residence areas close at 8 a.m. Saturday, Dec. 20. (Students are expected to communicate with their RAs regarding departure plans and should vacate campus within 24 hours following their last exam.)

Spring Semester: Residence areas reopen for residents returning for the spring semester at 8 a.m. Tuesday, Jan. 20, 2015; the first meal served will be lunch that day. Classes begin on Wednesday, Jan. 21.

Spring Vacation: Spring vacation begins at 5:30 p.m. Friday, March 6. Residence areas close at 8 a.m. Saturday, March 7, and reopen at 8 a.m. Sunday, March 15. The first meal served will be dinner on March 15. Classes resume at 8:30 a.m. Monday, March 16.

End of Year: The final exam period is Friday, May 8-Wednesday, May 13. Residence areas close at 5 p.m Thursday, May 14 for underclasswomen, except for those approved by the director of Residence Life to remain on campus for commencement. 

 

Questions should be directed to the Office of Residence Life at (434) 381-6420 or cclife@sbc.edu.

 

 

It’s not too early to start thinking about shuttles for our Thanksgiving Break.


CCL reserves a van and hires a driver for Thursday, Nov. 20, through the early afternoon of Saturday, Nov. 22. These shuttles will take Sweet Briar students from campus only to Lynchburg’s airport, Amtrak and Greyhound stations. A shuttle will return students to campus only from Lynchburg’s airport, Amtrak and Greyhound stations on Sunday, Nov. 30.

To reserve your spot on the shuttle, an email will be delivered to all students on the morning of Monday, Nov. 3. All you will need to do is answer the simple questions about you and your travel plans from Lynchburg. The electronic acceptance of reservations will run only until  Friday, Nov. 14 at 9am. That gives you more than 10 days to sign up anytime from a computer and guarantees you a spot on a shuttle.

Students who have signed up for the shuttle will receive confirmation on Monday, Nov. 17, with the schedule and reminders about shuttle procedures.

If your plans change and you realize that you need a shuttle after reservations are no longer being accepted, you will need to contact Amy in the Office of Spiritual Life (on the Dew side of Reid Pit) in person, by emailing her at apayne@sbc.edu, or by calling (434) 381-6103 during office hours, 9-4:15, with the exception of Friday, which is 9-noon. Communication about shuttles outside of these hours will be received on the next business day. Every effort will be made to accommodate late requests, although if the needed shuttle is filled, your request may not be met.

If your departure plans fall outside of Lynchburg or the dates listed above, you will need to line up your transportation to the alternate sites. If a friend is not able to drive you to the alternate location, an offering to compensate for gasoline expenses might increase the likelihood; or  you might need to line up a cab. CCL uses Amherst’s Tabb’s Cab and finds that they are very easy to work with and reliable. You may contact them easily through their website or by calling (434) 944-3437.

Questions? Contact Amy at apayne@sbc.edu or in her Reid Pit office.