Presidential Search Committee

Andrew C. Benjamin

Board Member

Andrew Benjamin has more than 27 years experience in the financial service industry. He was operations manager for Card Establishment Service for seven years and later joined NeuralTech as director of implementation services. Then he co-founded Merlin Solutions LLC and was the chief operation officer. In 2007, Total Systems (TSS NYSE) finalized the purchase of Merlin Solutions. Benjamin has remained with TSYS, managing and growing the division as director of the Operation Contact Center.

Benjamin became involved with Sweet Briar when his daughter joined the Class of 2018. A member of the College’s board of directors, he was a settling party in the litigation involving Sweet Briar College following its near-closure. Benjamin is a graduate of Purdue University’s Krannert School of Management, with a B.S. in industrial management and a minor in industrial engineering.

Jacquelyne “Jax” Bullett ’15

Board Member

Jax Bullett graduated from Sweet Briar College in May 2015 with a B.A. in government and a minor in Spanish. While at the College, Bullett played on the soccer team and served as ICC secretary and senior class vice president.

She is employed in human resources and works for Eliassen Group on a contract with General Dynamics.

Martha Cordell ’82

Alumnae Alliance Representative

Martha Cordell is the associate dean for student affairs for the University of Tulsa College of Law, where she previously served as assistant dean for admissions and financial aid.

Cordell earned her law degree from Tulane in 1985. She is a member of the Tulane Fund Advisory Board for 2016.

Marianne “Mimi” C. Fahs ’71

Board Member

Marianne “Mimi” C. Fahs, Ph.D., M.P.H., is an internationally recognized health economist, with more than 30 years experience in health policy and public health. Fahs holds joint appointments in the City University of New York as professor of economics and public health with the doctoral faculty of the Graduate Center, and as professor of health policy and management with the School of Urban Public Health at Hunter College.

Kelley M. Fitzpatrick ’85

Board Member

Kelley Manderson Fitzpatrick is the president of her family foundation, which makes grants to education, environmental issues, and the promotion of mental and spiritual well being. She began her career at Credit Suisse First Boston in New York and has since worked in social services and in numerous volunteer capacities. She also is a civic activist, having led a successful grassroots campaign to stop the operation of a nuclear waste incinerator in her community.

Dan Gottlieb

Faculty Representative
Associate Professor of Psychology
Director of the Honors Program

Daniel Gottlieb is an associate professor of psychology at Sweet Briar College, where he has taught a variety of courses since 2006. His main research interests are in basic learning mechanisms and mathematical modeling of psychological processes. He received a B.S. in psychology from Yale University and a Ph.D. in psychology from the University of Pennsylvania. At Sweet Briar, Gottlieb is chair of the Assessment Committee and director of the Honors Program.

Tony Lilly

Faculty Representative
Associate Professor of English
Director of the Honors Summer Research Program

Tony Lilly is an associate professor of English at Sweet Briar, where he teaches 16th- and 17th-century British literature, including Shakespeare, as well as courses in poetry, sexual diversity in literature, literary theory and film. He directs the Summer Honors Research Program. He graduated summa cum laude from Simon’s Rock College of Bard with a degree in literary studies, and he earned his M.A. and Ph.D. in English literature from Tufts University.

Aaron Mahler

Staff Representative
Chief Technology Officer

Aaron Mahler has been at Sweet Briar for 20 years. Starting as the network manager in 1996, he is now the chief technology officer, working to keep the College innovating across all areas, from academics to infrastructure. Mahler also is a professional photographer in his personal time, and he travels around the world doing live stream engineering for tech companies at events such as The Open golf tournament in the UK.

Olivia Myers ’18

Student Representative

Olivia Myers ’18 is studying psychology and history. She works at Cochran Library as a circulation desk assistant and as a tutor in the Academic Resource Center. She is the president of the ballroom dance club. She transferred to Sweet Briar from her local community college where she became a member of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society. Meyers will spend six weeks abroad this summer in the Virginia Program at Oxford.

Frank W. Roach

Board Member

Frank Roach is the CEO of Ferguson, the largest wholesale distributor of residential and commercial plumbing supplies and pipe, valves and fittings in the U.S. Roach joined Ferguson in 1976 as a management trainee and rose through numerous leadership positions. He is a former trustee for Hampden-Sydney College and the Virginia Foundation for Independent Colleges.

The Honorable Teresa Pike Tomlinson ’87

Board Member / Chair of the Board

Teresa Tomlinson is the 69th mayor of Columbus, Ga., She was sworn in as the city’s first female mayor on Jan. 3, 2011, and was elected to a second term in 2014. She practiced law for 16 years with Pope, McGlamry, Kilpatrick, Morrison and Norwood LLC, where she specialized in complex litigation and was the firm’s first female partner. She served from 2006 to 2010 as executive director of MidTown Inc., a nonprofit community renewal organization. She was the Sweet Briar College commencement speaker for graduation exercises on May 16, 2015.

Georgene M. Vairo ’72

Board Member / Vice ChairĀ of the Board

Georgene Vairo has been the David P. Leonard Professor of Law at Loyola of Los Angeles Law School since 1995. Since 2007, she also has been president of Auswin Realty Corp., where she manages a family-owned residential and commercial real estate firm in New York City. Prior to her current positions, she was associate dean of the Fordham University School of Law and Leonard F. Manning Professor of Law. She previously was a law clerk in the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of New York and an associate at Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom specializing in antitrust litigation.

Elinor “El” H. Warner ’85

Board Member / Executive Committee Member

El Warner is the chief marketing officer of Three Wire Systems LLC. She was a national marketing director for several nonprofits, including the National Multiple Sclerosis Society. She earned M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in English literature and taught at the College of William & Mary and at Lafayette College before switching her career to marketing communications. She was elected to the Easton City Council in 2007 and was Easton’s vice mayor from 2010 to 2014.