Music News

The Sweet Briar Chamber Orchestra and all three choirs will close out a busy month of spring events at Sweet Briar College, with the orchestra taking the stage at 7:30 p.m. Sunday, April 27, in Memorial Chapel, followed by the choirs at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 29, in the same [...]
Mon, Apr 21, 2014
Source: Music News
Caroline Lacy will perform a senior voice recital at 3 p.m. Saturday, April 19, in Sweet Briar College’s Memorial Chapel. Lacy, a sociology major with minors in anthropology and music, has included songs on the program that have special meaning for her. Handel’s “Verdi Prati” is the first piece she performed [...]
Thu, Apr 17, 2014
Source: Music News
On Thursday, United Way of Central Virginia honored Sweet Briar voice instructor Marcia Thom-Kaley with the Volunteer of the Year award during a ceremony for its “Opening Doors … Changing Lives” campaign. Overall, United Way handed out 15 distinguished awards to project coordinators, companies and individuals for their efforts to promote [...]
Mon, Mar 31, 2014
Source: Music News
Sweet Briar’s Performing Arts Division and the Sweet Briar Theatre will present Tony Kushner’s translation of “Brundibár,” the opera that was originally performed by Jewish children in Nazi-occupied Czechoslovakia. Sen. and Mrs. Elliot and Rosel Schewel are underwriting the production. In return, they asked that the show be marketed to young [...]
Wed, Mar 26, 2014
Source: Music News
Sweet Briar College’s Janet Lowrey Gager Concert Series will feature romantic music by the Rainier Trio at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 2, in Memorial Chapel. Supported by the Virginia Commission for the Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts, the event is free and open to the public. The Rainier [...]
Wed, Mar 26, 2014
Source: Music News
Sweet Briar voice instructor Marcia Thom-Kaley and arts management director Ursula Kuhar will star in an upcoming Opera on the James production of Mark Adamo’s “Little Women.” The contemporary opera will make its Central Virginia debut at 7:30 p.m. Friday, March 28, and at 3 p.m. Sunday, March 30, at [...]
Mon, Mar 17, 2014
Source: Music News
The Sweet Briar Concert Choir performs at last year’s Gospel Fest. Sweet Briar College will host its annual Gospel Fest at 4 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 23, in Memorial Chapel. The concert will be followed by a soul food community dinner in Prothro Dining Hall during regular dinner hours (5-7:30 p.m.). As in [...]
Mon, Feb 17, 2014
Source: Music News
The wait is over for art lovers who dig the weird, zany, serious, funny, good, bad and downright ugly, all wrapped into one. Sweet Briar’s biennial Fringe Festival is back. The collaborative four-day arts series is brought to you by the students, faculty and staff of the College’s Performing Arts [...]
Mon, Jan 13, 2014
Source: Music News
The Sweet Briar music department will perform a Holiday Pops Concert at 6 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 8, in Memorial Chapel, followed by the College’s annual Christmas Vespers service at 7 p.m. Sweet Briar choir singers perform during the 2012 Vespers service. The concert program offers a holiday music celebration featuring members of [...]
Mon, Dec 02, 2013
Source: Music News
Carol Hill taught at Liberty University for 10 years before coming to Sweet Briar. Brazilian tunes will heat up this month’s Janet Lowrey Gager Community Concert, which takes place at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 6, in Memorial Chapel at Sweet Briar College. The concert will feature works representative of popular, classical and [...]
Tue, Nov 05, 2013
Source: Music News