Music News

Sweet Briar musicians and singers are readying for a series of upcoming performances, including two joint appearances with the orchestra and women’s choir from Southern Virginia University. The first is set for 7:30 p.m. Friday, April 17, in SVU’s Chandler Hall. The second will be held at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, [...]
Mon, Apr 13, 2015
Source: Music News
Mark Magruder doesn’t want to belabor the likelihood that Sweet Briar College’s 2015 Spring Dance Concert will be its last, but he’s an artist who’s grounded in reality. The College announced it will close on Aug. 25. The concert, set for 7:30 p.m. Friday, April 17, and Saturday, April 18, [...]
Fri, Apr 10, 2015
Source: Music News
Sarah Capen ’15 will present her senior directorial project, “Sweet Memories,” at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, March 28, and 2:30 p.m. Sunday, March 29, in the Babcock studio theater. Admission is free but limited seating is available on a first-come, first-served basis beginning 30 minutes before curtain. Erin Elizabeth Geiersbach ’15, Sarah [...]
Thu, Mar 26, 2015
Source: Music News
Joshua Harris This month’s Janet Lowrey Gager Community concert at Sweet Briar will star flutist and poet Wayla Chambo, percussionist Peter Soroka and pianist and Sweet Briar College orchestra director Joshua Harris, who also composed one of the pieces. The concert takes place at 7:30 p.m. Sunday, March 22, and is [...]
Mon, Mar 16, 2015
Source: Music News
Sweet Briar College will hold its annual Vespers service at 7 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 7, in Memorial Chapel, preceded by a Holiday Pops Concert at 6 p.m. in the chapel. Both are open to the public and admission is free. Interim President Jimmy Jones and Chaplain Dori Baker will officiate this [...]
Mon, Dec 01, 2014
Source: Music News
“Dave the Potter” is a multimedia, interdisciplinary telling of history through art. Photo courtesy of Dan Dunlap Photography. Lynnette Overby, a professor of theater and dance at the University of Delaware, will present a talk about her multidisciplinary work “Dave the Potter” at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 2, in Pannell Gallery. [...]
Tue, Nov 25, 2014
Source: Music News
Members of Sweet Briar’s Octavo, Chamber and Concert choirs and the College orchestra will present an annual Holiday Pops Concert at 6 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 7, in Memorial Chapel, followed by the College’s Christmas Vespers service at 7 p.m. The concert program will feature holiday standards, such as “Jingle Bells” and [...]
Fri, Nov 14, 2014
Source: Music News
As Sweet Briar dance director Mark Magruder gears up for three back-to-back performances in November, he’s beginning to feel his 30 years of teaching dance, choreography and yoga at the College. After waiting six years since he last choreographed and performed a one-man show, he says his upcoming “House of Memory” [...]
Fri, Nov 07, 2014
Source: Music News
The Sweet Briar Chamber and Concert choirs, as well as Octavo, will perform a concert at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 25, in Memorial Chapel. The eight-singer group Octavo will sing “The Sky and the Dawn and the Sun” as performed by Celtic Women. The piece will also showcase the talents of [...]
Fri, Oct 17, 2014
Source: Music News
UPDATED Thursday, Oct. 16 The pre-show dinner and lecture by director and choreographer Loretta Wittman has been rescheduled for 5:15 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 18, in Johnson Dining Room. Normal dinner rates apply. Please reserve your seat for the lecture when you reserve your performance tickets. ______________________________________________________  Sweet Briar Theatre’s fall production, “Nine,” opens [...]
Wed, Oct 01, 2014
Source: Music News