Music News

Sweet Briar College will hold its annual Vespers service at 7 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 7, in Memorial Chapel, preceded by a Holiday Pops Concert at 6 p.m. in the chapel. Both are open to the public and admission is free. Interim President Jimmy Jones and Chaplain Dori Baker will officiate this [...]
Mon, Dec 01, 2014
Source: Music News
“Dave the Potter” is a multimedia, interdisciplinary telling of history through art. Photo courtesy of Dan Dunlap Photography. Lynnette Overby, a professor of theater and dance at the University of Delaware, will present a talk about her multidisciplinary work “Dave the Potter” at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 2, in Pannell Gallery. [...]
Tue, Nov 25, 2014
Source: Music News
Members of Sweet Briar’s Octavo, Chamber and Concert choirs and the College orchestra will present an annual Holiday Pops Concert at 6 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 7, in Memorial Chapel, followed by the College’s Christmas Vespers service at 7 p.m. The concert program will feature holiday standards, such as “Jingle Bells” and [...]
Fri, Nov 14, 2014
Source: Music News
As Sweet Briar dance director Mark Magruder gears up for three back-to-back performances in November, he’s beginning to feel his 30 years of teaching dance, choreography and yoga at the College. After waiting six years since he last choreographed and performed a one-man show, he says his upcoming “House of Memory” [...]
Fri, Nov 07, 2014
Source: Music News
The Sweet Briar Chamber and Concert choirs, as well as Octavo, will perform a concert at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 25, in Memorial Chapel. The eight-singer group Octavo will sing “The Sky and the Dawn and the Sun” as performed by Celtic Women. The piece will also showcase the talents of [...]
Fri, Oct 17, 2014
Source: Music News
UPDATED Thursday, Oct. 16 The pre-show dinner and lecture by director and choreographer Loretta Wittman has been rescheduled for 5:15 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 18, in Johnson Dining Room. Normal dinner rates apply. Please reserve your seat for the lecture when you reserve your performance tickets. ______________________________________________________  Sweet Briar Theatre’s fall production, “Nine,” opens [...]
Wed, Oct 01, 2014
Source: Music News
 Martha Woodroof, host of “The Spark” on public radio station WMRA and a freelancer for the NPR culture desk, worked in Sweet Briar’s Book Shop café during a pivotal time in her life. Now, the bookstore is at the heart of her just-released debut novel, “Small Blessings.” Although the women in [...]
Mon, Sep 15, 2014
Source: Music News
Trinidad’s famed Skiffle Steel Orchestra will perform at Sweet Briar on Sept. 11. Tickets for Trinidad’s Skiffle Steel Orchestra will go on sale Monday for its performance at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 11, in Murchison Lane Auditorium. About 15 of the group’s 100-plus members will perform a public concert, culminating a [...]
Fri, Sep 05, 2014
Source: Music News
Trinidad’s famed Skiffle Steel Orchestra will perform at Sweet Briar on Sept. 11. Photos by Tony Howell. Sweet Briar’s Babcock Season will open with music by Trinidad’s famous Skiffle Steel Orchestra at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 11. About 15 of the group’s 100-plus members will perform a concert open to the [...]
Fri, Aug 15, 2014
Source: Music News
The Sweet Briar Chamber Orchestra and all three choirs will close out a busy month of spring events at Sweet Briar College, with the orchestra taking the stage at 7:30 p.m. Sunday, April 27, in Memorial Chapel, followed by the choirs at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 29, in the same [...]
Mon, Apr 21, 2014
Source: Music News