Information about additional awards can be found here.

Academy of American Poets Prize

Awarded to the student submitting the best poem in the annual competition. The family of Jean Taylor Meyer has endowed this prize at Sweet Briar College and the prize has been renamed “The Jean Taylor Meyer Memorial Poetry Prize”.

Jean Besselievre Boley Fund

Established by the parents and husband of Jean Besselievre Boley ’35 to encourage interest in creative writing. The fund provides a prize for the student submitting the best short story entered in the annual competition. It may also provide a grant-in-aid for a junior or senior with demonstrated ability in creative writing who requires financial assistance.

Julia Sadler de Coligny Award

This award provides an annual prize to outstanding majors in music and English in alternate years.

Lawrence G. Nelson Award

Established in 1971 in memory of Professor Nelson, who taught English at Sweet Briar from 1946 to 1970, the award is given to a senior chosen by the Department of English for general excellence in English.

Shakespeare Prize

This prize is presented to the student who demonstrates excellence in any of the upper-level Shakespeare courses.