Board of Directors, 2012-13

Sweet Briar Institute was incorporated as a non-stock corporation by Act of the General Assembly of Virginia approved February 9, 1901. The affairs of the College are managed by a self-perpetuating Board of Directors consisting of no less than 24 nor more than 35 members elected annually at the spring meeting of the Board.

Members of the Board are elected for three-year terms and include the President of the College, the President of the Alumnae Association, and three alumnae class representatives, consisting of one representative from each of the three most recent graduating classes. A director (excluding the President of the College who has no limit on the number of years or terms he or she can serve) cannot serve more than three successive three-year terms on the Board. Directors elected as officers can serve up to one additional three-year term, for a total of up to twelve successive years.

The President of the College and the President of the Alumnae Association are ex-officio members of the Board. The President of the College and the Chair of the Board are ex-officio members of all committees of the Board of Directors.


Executive Committee


Paul G. Rice, B.S.

Chair, Board of Directors

Warrenton, Virginia


Elizabeth H.S. Wyatt '69, MBA

Vice-Chair, Board of Directors

Summit, New Jersey


Elvira McMillan Tate '65, MAT

Secretary, Board of Directors

Atlanta, Georgia


David W. Breneman, Ph.D.

Charlottesville, Virginia


Diane B. Dalton ’67, M.A.

Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Rachel O. Flynn, M.S.

Charlottesville, Virginia


Jane Eastin Hager ’67, B.A.

Lyndeborough, New Hampshire


Sally Old Kitchin ’76, B.A.

Virginia Beach, Virginia


JoAnn Soderquist Kramer ’64, M.A.E.

Essex Junction, Vermont


Karen Gill Meyer ’63, MBA

Scottsdale, Arizona


Jo Ellen Parker, Ph.D.

President of the College — ex officio

Sweet Briar, Virginia



Zehra R. Asghar ’10, B.A.

Young Alumna Director

Tampa, Florida


Christine Davis Boulware '77, B.A.

Chicago, Illinois


Hilary Bowie '12, B.A.

Fairfax, Virginia


Catherine Newman Detering ’76, B.A.

Houston, Texas


Susan Sellers Ewing ’71, B.A.

Richmond, Virginia


Marshá Taylor Horton ’76, Ph.D.

Magnolia, Delaware


Danelle J. Houck, '11, B.A.

Young Alumna Director

Georgetown, Texas


Richard E. Leslie, B.A.

New York, New York


Mary Johnson Nelson ’64, B.A.

President of the Alumnae Association

Chattanooga, Tennessee


Maggie Saylor Patrick ’07, B.A.

Oxford, Ohio


Anne Litle Poulet ’64, M.A.

Boston, Massachusetts


Yolanda Davis Saunders '96, B.A.

Woodbridge, Virginia


Susan P. Scanlan '69, M.A.

Alexandria, Virginia


Julia K. Sutherland '78, B.A.

Alexandria, Virginia


Anne Allen Symonds ’62, B.A.

New York, New York


Eugene M. Tobin, Ph.D.

Briarcliff Manor, New York